Skip to content
March 28, 2011 / mommylok

Thalia Kids’ Book Club: BIG NATE, meet the author – GIVEAWAY (CLOSED)

I was pretty excited to receive a couple new books to review.  I suppose, however, that it would be more helpful if I could actually read them.  My daughter (writer of A 1st Grader’s Book Reviews) was quick to snatch the books from me and had her eyes glued all weekend.  I would hear little giggles here and there.   She said, “Nate is SILLY!” I asked her if he is anything like Harry (of the Horrible Harry books she’s reading at school).  She said, “No, Nate is just silly.  Harry is silly but he does horrible things.  Nate doesn’t do horrible things.”  Luckily, my daughter has an earlier bedtime than I do so I was able to sneak the book away for some nighttime reading. 

Lincoln Peirce, cartoonist and author gives a behind-the-scenes look at his funny and clever middle-grade series, Big Nate, who is a spunky self-described genius on an unforgettable trail through the sixth grade.  What I love most about what I’ve read so far?  Though the recommended ages is 8-12 years, it is definitely equally enjoyable for adults.  The books are a comic book-style diary, which makes it very fun and easy reading (even for the difficult to please).  I’m pretty sure most of you can recall some memorable middle school stories or anxieties, or you may be currently experiencing middle school drama with your kids.  Relating to those stories is what makes reading Big Nate so fun.  The books are cute – and most definitely good for a few light-hearted chuckles. 

ABOUT

With more than 400,000 copies sold, more than 1 million visitors to bignatebooks.com, and 18 weeks on the New York Times best-sellers list, Big Nate is taking the world by storm! Big Nate was featured on “Good Morning America,” Lifetime’s “The Balancing Act,” and in The Washington Post and has been licensed in 14 countries.

GIVEAWAY-MEET THE AUTHOR!

Lincoln Peirce will be at NYC’s Symphony Space (Leonard Nimoy Thalia) on  Sunday, April 10 at 1pm as part of Symphony Space’s Thalia Kids’ Book Club!  One lucky reader will win 2 tickets to meet Mr. Peirce and engage in lively discussions with him; the winner will also receive a copy of his newest book, Big Nate Strikes Again!  To enter, please simply leave a comment sharing your favorite childhood book (mandatory entry). 

For an extra entry, please follow me on Twitter (@mommylok) and retweet the following:  “#GIVEAWAY via @mommylok: newest BIG NATE book & 2 tix to see author Lincoln Peirce, Sun 4/10 at @SymphonySpace: http://t.co/M8mxTjj ” and leave a separate comment indicating you’ve done so.

This giveaway is only open to those who are 18 years or older.  Hurry and enter as this giveaway ends on Tuesday, April 5, 2011 at 12:00pm EST  – comments submitted after that will not count.  One lucky winner will be selected randomly by random.org and be notified via e-mail with instructions on how to pick-up your tickets.  Good luck!

Disclosure:  I received Big Nate books for review purposes only; no other compensation was received for this post/giveaway.   All opinions expressed are my own.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Maria A / Mar 28 2011 12:46 PM

    Nice giveaway, but the books are a bit too old for my toddler so someone else can win it who has older kids. Plus, can’t go that Sunday, anyway. Thanks for posting!

  2. m / Mar 28 2011 2:14 PM

    I love mother goose.

  3. Migdalia - @MsLatina / Mar 28 2011 8:42 PM

    I would love to win this book and have my son meet Lincoln Peirce! Thanks for the giveaway!
    My fave books, not my son’s faves, were the Nancy Drew series. I read all of them several times and use to imagine myself as the Latina Drew :)

  4. Joscelyn @ MamiofMultiples.com / Mar 29 2011 11:50 PM

    What a fun and educational giveaway! I am always interested in books for my newly minted teen. I will be looking for this book. Thanks for sharing. :)

    • mommylok / Mar 30 2011 8:44 AM

      Thanks, Joscelyn! If you find it, please let me know what you think :)

  5. Pop / Mar 30 2011 10:11 AM

    I’ll keep this in mind for when D1 gets older. Currently, her love is Dora.

  6. Lisa / Mar 30 2011 11:27 AM

    My son would LOVE to win this, he was just talking about trying to get this book at his book fair but they didn’t have it! But I don’t think we could come meet the author since we live in SoCal :)

    • mommylok / Apr 5 2011 10:24 AM

      Aww, Lisa – thanks for entering regardless. And yes, the commute would probably be a bit ridiculous!

  7. Mei / Apr 4 2011 10:36 PM

    It will be a great opportunity for my 5th grader son to be able to meet the author since he is working on a school book report on the book. His favorite books are star wars and pokemon.

  8. Teresa Dang / Apr 4 2011 11:29 PM

    My 8 years old son got the book this Sunday and actually finished the book right away..my 6 years old daughter just started the book today and loving it….looks like they may want to meet the author this weekend ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,959 other followers

