Skip to content
May 14, 2012 / mommylok

mommylok, meet your DREAM CUPCAKE

Earlier I posted about how one of my recipe entries for Certe’s MY DREAM CUPCAKE won.  Now, I get the pure pleasure of sharing this masterpiece with you.  Chef Tamra Kirk took my recipe for Coffee Explosion and created what you see below, a heavenly chocolate cupcake with a hint of espresso, filled with a rich coffee crème and topped with an espresso chocolate buttercream frosting infused with espresso bean crunchies.

So, what do you think?

Three Certe staff members had the difficult task of taking nearly 140 My Dream Cupcake submissions and narrowing them down to just 3 winners.  The cupcakes to be created from these three recipes would not just be something they could sell at their store but a delicious reality for those who dreamt of it.

The winners were announced a couple weeks ago and were invited to a special tasting last week.  Let me introduce you to the other 2 winners:

Sloane (middle) dreamt of Monkey Business, a maple-flavored cake with caramelized banana filling and Nutella frosting, topped with peanut brittle pieces.

Lauren (right) dreamily submitted Snickerdoodle, a chocolate devil’s food cupcake filled with gooey caramel, mixed with peanuts, topped with chocolate ganache and a piece of a snickers bar.

At the tasting, Sloane made such “ooh, aah, mmmm” sounds as she tested the cupcakes that I wish I took a video so that you could experience what we were experiencing.  Lauren actually turned silent for a few seconds and when I glanced over, I realized why.  She was quietly indulging in her dream cupcake.  Lauren stated, “I wanted a snickers bar in a cupcake form and this is exactly what I got!”  Chef Tamra did an excellent job of interpreting our vision for what would be an awesome cupcake!  I’m sure these lovely women would agree with me when I say this was one SWEET way to take an afternoon break from work!

My Dream Cupcake Winners with Chef Tamra Kirk

Certe, located at 20 West 55th Street in NYC, will be featuring these cupcakes in their Pastry Counter starting in June.

June: Monkey Business

July: Coffee Explosion

August: Snickerdoodle

I hope you have a chance to stop by Certe, pick up a cupcake and let me know what you think of these Dream Cupcakes!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Teresa N / May 14 2012 3:01 PM

    Wow…I want one of those!!!!

  2. KC / May 14 2012 3:07 PM

    very cool! looks super yummy!!!

  3. chrispyeats / May 14 2012 4:14 PM

    I want one in my tummy!!

  4. Maria Wen Adcock (@BiculturalMama) / May 14 2012 8:05 PM

    Those cupcakes look so decadent! So impressed you created the new flavor!

Trackbacks

  1. The Dish » Blog Archive » Dream Cupcake contest is sweet success

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,978 other followers

