Skip to content
May 31, 2012 / mommylok

Chulita’s Famous Sofritos and Spices

I first discovered Chulita’s Famous at the Queens County Market a couple weeks back.  Gloribell, one of the Chulita Gals, welcomed me to her table to share her products – all natural, no MSG or food enhanced Sofritos and Spices.  There wasn’t much to consider until she opened up a jar of her Sofrito Verde and the aroma flowed out.  I was intrigued!  I don’t consider myself much of a cook, especially when it comes to non-Chinese cuisines!  But the fragrant sofrito seemed like it would make a wonderful base for some very simple cooking.

Sofrito is a savory blend of aromatic vegetables, herbs and spices and is the quintessential cooking base used in a myriad of Latin dishes.

Chulita’s Famous offers two types of sofritos: Sofrito Verde and Sofrito con Spices.  Both are made with fresh, high-quality ingredients and hand-selected spices for Latin-inspired meals.  In addition to sofritos, Chulita’s Famous also offers an Adobo Sabroso, a delectable mix of garlic, oregano and other spices.  The best part of these products is that sea salt is used and that it’s packed with pure flavor.  You can salt to taste with anything you cook but you can’t unsalt your food.  I’ve used other store-bought brands of Adobo and have always mistakenly over-seasoned.  Instead of flavor, all I tasted was salt.

For experimenting, I tried the Sofrito Verde on flank steak (I couldn’t get to a market that had skirt steak), a pork chop and out of desperation for a quick-fix pasta meal, I mixed in some Adobo and Sofrito Verde with ground pork and tossed it with pasta and green beans (seriously, I haven’t had time to stock my fridge with real food!)  My embarrassing attempt at a quick-fix meal actually worked and it was quite tasty!  I absolutely loved how with just a little bit of Sofrito Verde and Adobo, it turned my flank steak into an appetizing meal.  I was concerned because flank steak can be a tougher cut of meat but even my daughter who doesn’t care for meat too often asked for more.  I kid you not, my daughter (when she was 1-3 years old) would chew a spoonful of food that contained rice, veggies and meat, mush the food around in her mouth and spit out the meat.  As for the pork chop, I decided to let my daughter try again and while she already had her own dinner earlier in the evening, she opted to eat half my chop.  Now she knows when she sees the green “sauce”, she’ll have a delicious, flavorful dinner (something she’s not used to all the time, sadly!)  The Sofrito Verde and Adobo will quickly become staples in my kitchen-it really can’t get easier than a little marinading and cooking.  Less prep time in the kitchen means more ME time!

I know you’re looking for photos for ideas and “proof” of my meals, but trust me when I say that the food wouldn’t have looked as good as it tasted.  Moreover, I didn’t have any accompaniments to dress up the dish so I didn’t want to scare anyone away.  However, good news – Chulita’s Famous has recipes on their website that you can check out and try for yourself.  AND it comes with very appetizing images!

You can find Chulita’s Famous in person at the Brooklyn Fare on Monday, June 4th from 5pm-7pm and the Garden Gourmet in Riverdale (Bronx) on Saturday, June 9th from 1pm-3pm.  Additionally, a few stores around Manhattan, Brooklyn and the Bronx carry their products – for a list of the stores, please visit http://chulitasfamous.com/locations/new-york-city/.

Disclosure:  I received samples for review purposes only; no other compensation was received for this post.   All opinions expressed are my own.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Maria Wen Adcock (@BiculturalMama) / May 31 2012 11:08 PM

    I’m all for supporting local companies and these sound like they will help me make more tasty meals!

  2. Mark Makowski / Nov 14 2012 8:40 PM

    i always put herbs and spices on every meal that i cook.;

    Most up-to-date piece of writing provided by our webpage
    http://www.homeimprovementstuffs.com/pine-desk-with-hutch/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,978 other followers

