Skip to content
July 25, 2012 / mommylok

Product Feature: Learning Mandarin Chinese with Miss Panda

I received Miss Panda’s Let’s Learn Mandarin Chinese CD a while back and felt bad that I wasn’t able to post this feature in a timely manner.  My life got really hectic and I just didn’t seem to have time to listen to the CD in full, only portions of it when I was driving in the car with my children.  When I contacted Miss Panda to apologize, she responded “listening in the car is actually the best time.  Short and sweet.”  I realized she was absolutely correct.

Eventually, we were able to listen to the entire CD – on my kids’ terms, not because I forced them to sit and go through lessons to learn Chinese.  I loved that when we got into the car, my kids (especially my 3 year old) would demand to listen to Miss Panda.  They’d spend time repeating words and phrases and also singing fun songs.  By listening to the a chapter or two at time, my kids seemed to retain more of the lesson.  More importantly, it’s because they wanted to learn, not because I wanted them to learn.

This 54 minute CD is a fun and effective way to engage my children in learning Mandarin Chinese, especially in the car.  I mean, what’s the alternative – more sibling bickering?  I acknowledge that I have purchased many other CDs, videos, and books that also teach similar lessons – the more exposure my children have to their culture, the better.  To me, however, there really isn’t one method that is more effective than another.  It really is dependent on a child’s preference on how he or she is receptive to such lessons.  For this particular program, I appreciate how new vocabulary words and phrases are constantly reinforced through repetition and cute songs, and it’s easily done in the car.  This is a great way to utilize the downtime we have while driving.

The “Let’s Learn Mandarin Chinese with Miss Panda!” audio program is designed for newcomers to Mandarin Chinese with limited or no Mandarin Chinese language experience.  This CD will take your child on an adventure-filled journey with carefully orchestrated content.  Over 100 most commonly used Chinese words, phrases, expressions and simple sentences are introduced through song, rhyme, rap, movement, and games.

For more information about Let’s Learn Mandarin Chinese with Miss Panda, please visit her at http://www.misspandachinese.com/ or follow her on Facebook.

ABOUT MISS PANDA

“Miss Panda” is a dynamic Mandarin Chinese language instructor and the mother of two young bilingual children.  She is a native Mandarin Chinese speaker and a trained Mandarin Chinese Language Instructor.  She was the host for “The English Club,” a top-rated language learning program on the National Education Radio Station in Taiwan.  She has extensive teaching experience with children in Taiwan, Morocco, Canada and the United States.  She is also registered with Hawai’i Careers With Young Children (PATCH) and is director-qualified.  Miss Panda received the highest possible score on the Chinese Proficiency Test administered by the Foreign Service Institute of the U.S. Department of State in Washington D.C.   Additionally, she is a member of the Chinese Language Teachers Association and a member of the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages.

Disclosure:  I received a CD for review purposes only; no other compensation was received for this post.   All opinions expressed are my own.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Maria Wen Adcock (@BiculturalMama) / Jul 26 2012 2:05 PM

    My DD listens to this CD in the car all the time!

  2. Asianmommy / Jul 26 2012 3:37 PM

    Thanks for the info–I’m always looking for new ways to get the kids interested in speaking Mandarin.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,978 other followers

