Skip to content
November 19, 2010 / mommylok

I want to ROCK!

I said to my daughter, “I’m going to take you and your brother to see a concert! It’s School of Rock, where kids perform really cool music!”

“But mommy, I saw them last year at my old school.”  A little puzzled, I replied “You saw School of Rock at school?”

“Yes, my teacher played Schoolhouse Rock music!”

“No, honey…not Schoolhouse Rock, but School of Rock.”

I don’t know where to start to talk about my day yesterday – it was just a brief night out, but at the same time, hugely meaningful.  I was excited to take my 2 older kids out; they were just as excited as they knew the other option would be to stay home and do homework (BORING!)  I picked them up from school and after nearly an hour of traffic getting into the city and another 30 minutes wasted looking for parking, we finally arrived at the Gotham Comedy Club (an intimate venue), where School of Rock (the leading music education school for kids ages 7-18)  and the cast of the Broadway musical Rock of Ages teamed up for a special performance to promote awareness for the Children’s Miracle Network.  Tickets were courtesy of DaDa Rocks (follow @dadarocks on Twitter or his blog @ http://dadarocks.com/) – he’s huge in Twitterworld! (Another highlight of the evening – I got to meet DaDaRocks in person.  I’m such a newbie to Twitterworld and getting to know all these wonderful parent bloggers has been an adventure.  Sometimes, I question their real existence since all I know them by are by their Twitter names!)  When DaDa Rocks first tweeted about the ticket giveaway, I immediately flashed back to my adult night out about 2 years ago, when I was pregnant with my youngest child; we partied, waved our hands in the air and sang our hearts out at Rock of Ages’ amazing show!)  So when asked if I could make it, I knew had to find a babysitter for my youngest – I knew I had to go!  Ok, I admit, I might have been a wee bit more excited to see the show than my kids!

The kids got a little excited when they saw all the instruments and people in costume (sparkly clothing, ripped shirts, tight pants, cool hairstyles – of course, it’s costume because people don’t really dress like that!) I got all goosebumpy as come on, people, we all know the best music around came from the 80s!  Dee Snider was sitting right next to us, before he jumped on stage and started the show with “We’re Not Going To Take It”.  I feel bad, but I did use my daughter to pretend she wanted to rock on and throw her arms in the air – that way I didn’t look so silly being the only one in the crowd doing it.  It was a short show, but not short of being amazing.  The School of Rock performers were awesome – you’d never guess they were just kids.  Other songs performed included Sister Christian, Don’t Stop Believin’, and Here I Go Again. 

On a side note, a gentleman sitting behind us seemed entertained by my kids (because they are so cute, of course!) and started a conversation with my daughter.  He ended with, “do you like to read?” Of course, my daughter said “Yes”.  He handed me his business card and told me he wanted to send her some books.  Ends up this man, besides being so generous, is an EVP/COO at Macmillan.  Wow.  That’s all I have to say about that.  I’m excited to receive his care package for the kids! 

I can go on and on about how great the concert and my overall evening with the kids was, but I won’t…so I’ll just leave you with this.  This was an event to promote the Children’s Miracle Network – check the organization out as children deserve the world.  In my eyes, any organization that benefits children deserve recognition.  http://www.childrensmiraclenetwork.org/

For more information on School of Rock, please visit http://www.schoolofrock.com/index.php.

Keep on Rockin’ everyone!

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. DaDa Rocks! / Nov 19 2010 12:00 PM

    plus you had some kick ass seats (and for the most part your table was right next to Dee Snider!)

    oh yes I read your blog too 🙂

  2. mommylok / Nov 19 2010 12:05 PM

    I know!! I was enjoying the moment too much and didn’t get my photo op!

Leave a Reply

