Skip to content
December 29, 2010 / mommylok

Best buys…

Every now and then, I will make a purchase that I’m extremely happy with.  Especially if that purchase is a gift.  I’m sure you can relate. 

I consider myself a pretty good gift-giver, and it’s not because I’m generous or have a lot of money to buy nice expensive items, but rather thoughtful!  We were invited to a holiday party where all the families will be exchanging gifts for the kids.  This party is scheduled for after Christmas, so I had to come up with a couple gift ideas that would still excite the kids.  My Kris Kringle gift recipients are girls, around my daughter’s age.  After a little brainstorming, I decided to check out Etsy.  I never heard of the site until I came across the discussion “Etsy Finds” on Nerd Girl Central. (Wait, did I just openly admit I am a member of Nerd Girl Central?  Yes, that is another blog post to be written…soon!)  It had a cute name so I decided to check it out.  I searched on charm necklaces and ultimately found this cute best friends charm necklace.   How cute is this necklace?? 

I thought this would be perfect, but the only problem is there are 3 girls!  I e-mailed the shop’s owner, littlepieceofmyart to see if she had other options.  After a series of back and forth conversations and an eagerness to work with me, the shop’s owner helped me finalize on this:

The girls haven’t received their necklaces yet, but I know they will be extremely happy with this!   Bottom line, this was one of my best buys for this holiday season – simple and adorable.  I highly recommend shopping with “littlepieceofmyart” on Etsy – the owner is super personable, responds quickly and has excellent customer service.  After I placed my order (which, by the way, was really easy to do and payment can be made via Paypal), my necklaces were shipped within hours.  They were each packaged in their own beautiful organza gift bag – no additional work on my end needed for gift wrapping.  What little girl doesn’t like to receive pretty things? 

PS – I wanted to also thank Amanda of “Just Say with Love” – because without her discussion on Nerd Girl Central, I probably wouldn’t have found Etsy…or my necklaces!

So, what’s your best buy for this holiday season?  Please share!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jessi / Dec 29 2010 1:25 AM

    Those are adorable. That’s what I love about Etsy, the artists there can work with most any situation!

  2. Amanda / Dec 29 2010 12:41 PM

    I am glad you discovered the awesomeness that is Etsy. I just can’t believe you haven’t come across it sooner. I bought Christmas presents there this year and I like to purchase thing’s for myself and, as you found it, it’s a great place for gifts!

    Thank you for the shout out. 🙂

  3. KC / Jan 6 2011 8:42 AM

    what a cute idea! etsy has some of the best gift ideas!

  4. mommylok / Jan 31 2011 12:04 PM

    Now there is a giveaway to win one of the necklaces from this shop’s owner! 🙂

Leave a Reply

