Skip to content
February 5, 2011 / mommylok

Milkshake, it’s not just for dessert!

My daughter got a quick lesson in marketing today.  Well, sort of.

“Mommy, why does the band call themselves Milkshake?”  I said most kids probably wouldn’t be as attracted to a band that’s called Peas, Peppers or Broccoli then they would with the name Milkshake. 

“But, I love broccoli!”   I paused for a moment and said, “Dear daughter, you aren’t like most kids!”  (But mind you, I’m NOT complaining!)

I got the pleasure of taking my daughter and 2 of her friends to see Milkshake today where they rocked on at Symphony Space.  It actually is a pretty nice venue, perfectly sized for this type of performance.  Not too small (you don’t feel crowded), not too big (intimate).  Previous to the concert, I’ve heard of Milkshake but was not too familiar with all their songs.  My daughter and her friends never heard of them (they are ages 6 and 8).  Milkshake’s 4th CD “Great Day” was nominated for a Grammy Award in 2010 (Best Musical Album for Children).  And from what I’ve seen on their website, they looked really fun!  I wanted to expose my daughter to something different (we don’t seem to get much variety in our family activities!) so I thought this would be a perfect afternoon out for us…and yet another opportunity for some mother-daughter bonding.  I’ve taken my kids to a School of Rock concert before and even though I thoroughly enjoyed it, it wasn’t as appropriate for them (they were ages 3 and 5 at the time). 

Milkshake is entirely family-appropriate and I am most certain that kids of almost any age (even the littlest ones!) would enjoy this very engaging, interactive performance.   I was scared at first that the girls were not going to have fun as they just sat and stared at the stage for the first song or two.  But then when singer Lisa Mathews invited everyone to get up and dance and even stand up front by the stage, things started to change.  I saw the girls clapping, smiling and laughing.  I got to sit back and watch them have a good time.  For me, a good gauge of how good a performance is can be judged by the ability for someone to have a good time even if he/she is not familiar with the music.   And the girls were having a GREAT time!

The most impressive thing to me was that I actually saw my daughter raise her hand, wanting to get picked when Lisa Mathews asked who in the audience can count from 1 to 10 in a different language.  My daughter is super shy and I usually have to do a bit of nudging in order to get her to speak a little louder or approach someone she isn’t familiar with.  So for the fact that she wanted to get picked and speak into a microphone in front of the entire crowd – that’s huge.  And for that, I thank Lisa Mathews and the rest of the band members!  Milkshake is fun, engaging and high energy.  A great show all around.  I highly recommend you see them the next time they are performing near you.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Migdalia - @MsLatina / Feb 11 2011 2:57 PM

    It sounds like your daughter and her friends had a great time! Def. something I will look into for my 9 year old

    • mommylok / Feb 11 2011 3:27 PM

      They did, thanks! It was just fun – lots of young ones in the crowd!

Leave a Reply

