Skip to content
February 28, 2011 / mommylok

Skiing Basics

We had a weekend of fun at the Poconos (Big Boulder) with 3 other families.  This was going to be our first attempt at taking the kids skiing.  I wasn’t sure how it was going to be as my kids are a bit on the scared, not-so-adventurous side.  My son – well, he did manage to get his skis on but didn’t last so long during the actual lesson.  What can a mom do…

My daughter – she was ecstatic to be on the slopes!  Both my husband and I were shocked and so impressed and proud of her.  Even after the rest of the kids tired out and went back to our rental home to rest (and play), my daughter stayed by herself to continue skiing.   The smile on her face was all that we needed.  Well worth the trip.

OH – and in case you needed some basic skiing tips…

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Renee Houston Zemanski / Feb 28 2011 7:57 PM

    She is so precious!! I love it! I’m a big skier and was thinking about taking my kids to the Poconos this winter. PA has a ski free program for all 4th and 5th graders so that’s where we end up skiing!

    • mommylok / Feb 28 2011 8:18 PM

      Aww, thanks so much! If you need a house rental referral, let me know. The place we stayed at was great! We’ve already stayed there twice (and it’s 2 minutes from Big Boulder Mountain). I didn’t know about the free ski program – that’s good to know!

  2. Nikki / Feb 28 2011 8:07 PM

    How awesome. It’s good to teach kids while they’re young.

  3. Maria A / Mar 4 2011 2:51 PM

    Impressive she’s learning to ski! It’s hard, I’ve gone twice and I had huge bruises for weeks. Definitely would have been easier learning as a kid versus as an adult.

    • mommylok / Mar 4 2011 5:02 PM

      I agree; I remember trying as an adult…and it wasn’t a very good idea!

  4. Sherie / May 6 2011 2:41 PM

    Great job! Can’t wait to take my kiddies to ski!

  5. mommylok / May 6 2011 3:47 PM

    Thanks, Sherie!

Leave a Reply

