Skip to content
March 9, 2011 / mommylok

Purple Princess Wins the Prize (A 1st Grader’s Book Review)

Title:  Purple Princess Wins the Prize

Author:  Alyssa Crowne

The main idea is that Isabel wanted to win a prize.  Isabel is the purple princess.  Isabel won a prize.  Isabel wrote a story that a snow fairy turned everything into ice and snow.  It was a writing contest.  

The lesson was that Megan didn’t have to win everything.  Megan is Isabel’s classmate.  She has to let other people win, too.  I think Megan wanted to win all the trophies because she wanted to be the best.

My favorite character is Megan because she won in the fifty-meter race and the cupcake contest.  She had the yummyest (I liked M’s spelling here, so I left it as is!) cupcakes.  It was covered with snowflakes and glitter.  I thought this was beautiful.  I also like Sandi and Mandy because Sandi, Mandy and me have long hair.  I didn’t like when Alex took Isabel’s white sneakers because it wasn’t nice.  

My favorite part is that when Isabel won the prize.  The prize was a certificate.  She was shocked.  I am happy for her.  I want a certificate. 

NOTE:  This review was written by Miriya and typed by me (I only made minor adjustments on punctuation/spelling).  All opinions are that of my daughter’s.  Please visit the “1st Grader’s Book Review” page for more reviews.

Leave a Reply

