Skip to content
June 30, 2011 / mommylok

Barely Surviving Day 1 of Summer Vacation

I’m openly confessing…I’m not a very good stay-at-home mom.  Even though it was a complete honor to be Big City Mom’s Super Mom of the Week (yes, it is cheesy of me to throw that comment in, but I need any kind of ego boost I can get; being at home stresses me out!) I didn’t think it was deserved, especially when you read the bios from the other Super Moms.  But fortunately for me, I’m the boss so I can’t fire myself from the job.

I never planned on being a SAHM; I always thought no matter what, I’d always return to the workforce.  It’s been 2 years for me since I left the corporate world and I still feel like I am struggling.  I am not good at making sure my children get out every day for the proper stimulation that young kids need.  They also definitely get way too much TV.  Last year, I used Baby R as an excuse; he was only 1 and difficult to bring out with 2 other young kids.  The only times I really ventured out was when I had other families to meet.  I needed the help from the other moms.  I was terrified to bring the kids out myself.  For the most part, we only went to museums; with 3 kids (all 5 years old and younger) on my own, I had to stay indoors so that I could make bathroom runs easily (for both me and the potty-trained kids!)  My emergency activity for those days that I didn’t have anyone to meet (and for when I was feeling particularly confident and able to get over my phobia) was an afternoon at the Kids Fun House.  During the summer, they had open play for $5/child on the weekday and you could stay as long as you wanted.  I thought that was a pretty good deal.  It isn’t terribly big (but big enough for kids 6 yrs and younger) so I could sit and relax and not worry about the kids while they run around to their hearts’ content.  They have a separate play area for the little ones (3 yrs and younger) so it was a perfect location for me (especially on the super hot days).

This year, my kids are 2, 4 and 6 years – much more manageable so I technically shouldn’t have an excuse.  I’ve been telling myself that I’ve been practicing for the past year and I WILL survive outings outdoors (park, beach) with or without other moms.  So now I’m ready to attack the summer and give my kids the fun they deserve.  But there’s one problem.  We’re only on day 2 and we haven’t gone out yet.  Baby R has been extremely sick, vomiting for 3 days now.  His cough hasn’t gotten better since the beginning of the week and the doctor-prescribed antibiotics doesn’t seem to have much of an effect yet.  So what did I do yesterday (our first full day of summer vacation)?  The kids watched TV, read, napped, worked on their workbooks and played (without killing each other).  Not exactly fun or ideal, but it was the best I could indoors with a sick baby.  AND my daughter didn’t once tell me she’s bored (which she tends to do almost every day, even when we’re in the car).  That alone meant success for me…in the survival of day 1 of summer vacation.  Let’s just hope Baby R can get over the yucky bug this week so we can start off next week with the good stuff…

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bicultural Mama / Jun 30 2011 4:17 PM

    I know it’s hard to not be hard on yourself, but you do have 3 kids and that’s a lot to have to keep busy, entertain, stay sane with. It’s not like you have a yard for them to run around in, so it is more of an effort to pack them and everything else in the car. I’m leaving next week for MI, but when I’m back at the end of the month you’re always free to come out my way – we could do a beach day. We have a seasonal pass!

  2. Nikki @ Mommy Factor / Jul 1 2011 10:40 AM

    Sorry to here your little one isn’t feeling well. Hopefully he’ll be better soon and you can venture outside. I know it might be hard the first time but I think after 2/3 trips outside on your own with the kids you’ll find you CAN do it. Just make sure to have ALL snack and a close place to go potty 🙂 Keep an emergency mom on call in case you need to call for backup 🙂

  3. mommylok / Jul 1 2011 10:52 AM

    Thanks for the kind words and advice! I’m sure I just need to kick myself out the door and I’ll be fine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

