Skip to content
July 1, 2011 / mommylok

Product Feature: Sky Ball…the highest bouncing ball ever made?

Maui Toys was one of the companies featured at this year’s Time to Play’s Spring Showcase.  They had on display their hip and colorful toys, including their Wave Hoop.  The patented liquid core is supposed to make hooping 10 times easier than a regular hoop.  By the looks of the girl I saw demonstrating below, I’d say that might be a true statement!  She was impressively hula-hooping 4 hoops simultaneously!

Also on display were Maui Toys’ Sky Balls.  The company claims that this is the highest bouncing ball ever, bouncing up to an amazing 75 feet into the air.  When I heard that, of course I was skeptical so Maui Toys sent me some Sky Balls to test out.  The first test was at the park.  The kids played, bounced and tossed the ball around – it was definitely bouncier than some of the other balls we’ve come across.  Because we were on the playground where it’s padded on the bottom for safety, it wasn’t a very good test.  My second test was at home – where I had my daughter run outside to wait for me to drop it out of our 2nd floor window.  I gently dropped the ball to see how how high it would bounce; I didn’t put any force into it.  The ball naturally bounced up almost as high as my window on the 2nd floor.  But because I started getting stares from my neighbors, I didn’t proceed to tests 3 and 4 where I’d use more force in the drop to test the limits.  I regret to say, I cannot validate the claim that the Sky Ball can bounce up to 75 feet as the highest I could go was a not-so-impressive 2nd floor.  However, given the bounce I’ve seen, I think this ball would still provide hours of outdoor fun for your kids.  Just think what you could do with a game of handball with a Sky Ball, or maybe even with a bat (you’d want to try this on a bigger field!)

The traditional Sky Balls come in blue, green, purple and red.  They also have a variety of colors in the funky graffiti-style.  Sky Balls can be purchased at various retailers like Walmart, Toys R Us, Target, Dick’s Sporting Goods and Kmart and retail for about $8.

AND, check this out!  There is a Sky Ball League where 4 on 4 co-ed teams around the country compete against each other with the hopes of winning a cash prize and a trip to Hollywood to compete in the SBL Tournament of  Champions.  There’s also a role at stake for a new reality TV show airing on Fox Sports this summer/fall.  For more information, please visit the Sky Ball League’s website.

ABOUT MAUI TOYS

Maui Toys, Inc. was founded in 1988 by Brian D. Kessler who sought to bring vibrant fashion, versatile function and evolving style together to set a standard for unique toys in a competitive market.  As a manufacturer and distributor of spring and summer activity toys worldwide, their core business is outdoor sports-related toys that encourage children to be active, including the famous Wave Hoop, Sky Ball and Water Bouncers.

Disclosure:  I received Sky Ball samples for review purposes only; no other compensation was received for this post.   All opinions expressed are my own.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Bicultural Mama / Jul 2 2011 12:23 AM

    I like your test outside your window. I can imagine your neighbors staring!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,959 other followers

