Skip to content
August 30, 2011 / mommylok

Karma

I am most certain that anyone who has ever been on a NYC bus or subway will have some sort of eye-rolling story because as most of us know, there can be a lot of characters in NYC!

Today’s trip via the NYC bus reminds me how much I do not miss the daily commute that I used to endure when I was still a part of the corporate world, working in Manhattan.

 

At a random bus stop, a much older gentleman with a cane seemed to have a bit of trouble collecting his fare money from his pockets.  There were still people in line behind him so the driver had to wait before pulling out of the stop.  A woman on the bus started getting really irritated and was throwing her arms up in the air, muttering under her breath “what the heck is going on?”  Within a minute, she yelled out “Driver, let’s GO!”  By the way she was reacting, you would have thought she was waiting for hours.  In reality, the wait was probably no more than a few minutes.  Everyone just stared at her with a “what is your problem” look; the driver turned around and yelled something back, but I was too far back to hear.

The funny thing is, this woman is clearly going down the aging route herself.  If I had to say, she’s somewhat like fine wine, though not-so-fine in her case.  This woman obviously does not believe in karma.  Or maybe she’s just having a bad day.  A very bad day.

Regardless, as a little piece of advice…if you are in a rush to get somewhere in Manhattan (as in the I-will-get-mad-and-yell-at-helpless-people-if-I-don’t-get-there-fast-enough kind of rush), you may want to consider not taking a bus.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rosey / Aug 30 2011 7:45 PM

    Eeesh, I too, hate when people get like that in public, especially at the expense of another person. An ounce of humanity goes a really long way.

    • mommylok / Aug 30 2011 9:14 PM

      I totally agree with you! Thanks for your comment 🙂

  2. Bicultural Mama / Aug 30 2011 9:00 PM

    I liked this post – so true, don’t take the bus if you’re in a hurry. Everyone knows the elderly take the bus because they can’t go up and down the stairs. In a rush? Take a cab, the subway, or heck, even walk it (I’ve out walked buses in Manhattan before – that’s how bad traffic can be!).

    • mommylok / Aug 30 2011 9:15 PM

      Ha! Me, too – I’ve walked many blocks knowing that I’d get there faster…and with less stress 🙂

  3. Nikki @ Euphoria Luv / Aug 30 2011 9:10 PM

    Ugh, I had one of those on the bus this morning also. Like really? Can’t they see the person is getting the change that fell on the ground so they can pay?! I find people these days have no patience or common curtsey

Leave a Reply

