Skip to content
September 1, 2011 / mommylok

Modern Parenthood

Photo by V. Lok

A couple weeks back, I attended a panel discussion hosted by Verizon Wireless at Lady Mendl’s Tea Parlor.  The panelists were three amazing bloggers (Onica, The Mommy Factor; Rebecca, Beccarama; and Linda, NYC Single Mom) who discussed how smart phones and tablets have helped them organize their lives and get through the everyday challenges of…motherhood.   The panelists mainly shared which applications they found to be most useful, for both their personal use and ones that their children utilize.  From applications that help with organizing shopping lists to ones that provide realtime traffic, weather and public transportation updates for efficient travel, there seems to be an application suitable for every need.

I have to be honest, I didn’t take very good notes.  All I could do was think about how nice it would be to actually have a smart phone where I could utilize all these cool applications.  Hopefully, I can upgrade my current phone by the end of the year!

The one question I had to ask was “do all these gadgets really simplify your life or has it complicated it?”  I mean, once upon a time ago, so many years back, people did survive without all these fancy techy gadgets.

Onica put it best, “it’s not the technology that’s complicated, it’s what the user behind it makes of it.”  Good point.

Now, I’m curious to know about my readers – are there any parents out there who do not have a smart phone and how do you feel about that?  What about the parents with smart phones – which applications have you found to be most useful?

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Nikki @ Mommy Factor / Sep 1 2011 9:44 AM

    Thanks for being my guest and coming to hear me speak. Also great recap post. I’m forever grateful

  2. mommylok / Sep 1 2011 10:04 AM

    Thank you 🙂 I appreciated the invite and I enjoyed the discussion. Hopefully there will be more!

  3. Bicultural Mama / Sep 1 2011 1:33 PM

    Looks like a great panel, Onica and Vida! I have a Smartphone (and old Treo) and I love that I can access the internet on my phone. I use it all the time!

  4. Asianmommy / Sep 1 2011 9:03 PM

    I use my iPhone to check email, my blog, twitter, & facebook. I also love reading with the Kindle app, especially while waiting for the kids at ballet/tennis/swimming/etc. When we go on vacation, google maps is also very useful.

Leave a Reply

