Skip to content
October 10, 2011 / mommylok

Can I afford to go back-to-work?

Before I went back to work, I did some number crunching to make sure the associated costs with working made sense (mainly child care and commuting)  For the most part, the numbers worked in my favor.  But now that I started working and have a better sense as to how much my costs are, I’m beginning to wonder why is it costing me so much to come to work?  Commuting costs are so astronomical that it’s almost ridiculous for me to come work in Manhattan.  To put it in perspective, I have to drive every day because of my childcare situation.  Between gas, tolls and (sometimes) parking costs, I almost have to wonder is it worth it?  I suppose I’m still benefiting overall from working, but that doesn’t mean I am not stressing out about it!  For those of you who live in NYC, you can relate.  But what about those of you who don’t live in a large urban setting – do you have the same concerns?  Are commuting costs preventing you from going back to work?  My guess is probably not, but I’d still love to hear any feedback.  Please share any thoughts!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bicultural Mama / Oct 10 2011 8:10 PM

    Put everything in an Excel spreadsheet so you’ll really know all of your costs – put in those gas receipts. Do you bring your own lunch? You can save $ that way. Also calculate your net salary by estimating your taxes (for example, like take 25% off your gross salary). If after you do all this you’re not up by much (but stress is high) then reconsider. If you’re up pretty decently then maybe try to stick it out!

    • mommylok / Oct 10 2011 8:25 PM

      You are so right – we’ve done that in the past and need to start it up again. It’s so important to calculate your expenses so you can really have control over family finances! It’s just so mind boggling when I really take a step back and look at how much it costs to go to work.

  2. KC / Oct 11 2011 8:43 AM

    Did u consider working in Long Island or Queens?

    • mommylok / Oct 11 2011 8:55 AM

      I did, but it also presented other problems 😦

  3. Christine / Nov 12 2011 1:15 AM

    I have to make similar decisions since I had my daughter. The salary will have to make sense especially with astronomical child care prices.

Leave a Reply

