Skip to content
November 13, 2011 / mommylok

Disney On Ice presents Dare To Dream Review

What do Rapunzel and I have in common?  We both celebrated our birthdays yesterday (OK, so it just happened to be my birthday on the same day I saw Rapunzel, and if you’ve seen Tangled, you know that Rapunzel celebrates her birthday in the show!)

Photo by V. Lok

Yesterday, I took my daughter (M) and her 2 BFFs (AJ and AN) to see Disney On Ice presents Dare To Dream where Rapunzel, along with Princesses Tiana and Cinderella, skated through their respective classic Disney stories (narrated in person by a skating Mickey, Minnie, Goofy and Donald) and where the audience majestically witnessed the three Princesses see their dreams become reality.  I had high expectations for this show just due to the fact that it’s a Disney production.  Were my expectations met?  Absolutely.   The costumes were vibrant, the performers engaged the audience and moreover,  you can’t beat seeing a Princess flying in the air (or a horse skating flawlessly on all four hooves!)

Photo by V. Lok

Photo by V. Lok

Here’s what M, AJ and AN had to say:

M:  My favorite Princess was Rapunzel.  I liked the part when Rapunzel and Flynn flew.  I thought it was tissue paper and slippery.  But they didn’t slip and I was happy.  If it was me, I would scream.  It was one of the coolest things I ever saw.  I didn’t like the part where Flynn got hit by the knife by Rapunzel’s fake mother.  I also like Tiana.  When Tiana kissed the frog, she turned into a frog.  The Princesses were cool, funny and silly.

AJ:  My favorite part is when Rapunzel was flying on her fake hair because it is cool.  I didn’t like it when Rapunzel’s mother hit Flynn with a knife because she could have killed Flynn and that would be sad.  The show was cute, cool and awesome.

AN:  My favorite Princesses in the show were Rapunzel and Cinderella.  My favorite part in the show was when Rapunzel was flying to get out of her tower.  Her hair brought her to the ground.  My favorite part in Cinderella was when the Fairy God Mother turned the pumpkin into a carriage.  I did not like when Tiana kissed the frog.  The end was so cool because all of the Princesses were there.  Mickey Mouse and Minnie Mouse was dancing, too.  They were so cute.

Though the main story revolves around just 3 Disney Princesses, at the end of the show, all the Princesses make an appearance.  It’s so cute and fun to hear all the young girls in the audience screaming from excitement from seeing all the Disney Princesses skating around, making it a real grand finale.  As an adult, I truly enjoyed the show and I cannot wait to take my daughter to experience the next Disney On Ice production.

Disclosure:  I received tickets to see the show for review purposes only; no other compensation was received for this post.   All opinions expressed are my own.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tdang / Nov 13 2011 11:08 PM

    I am so glad that the girls enjoyed the show so much! Angelina said she “absolutely loved it!” Thanks again for thanking her.

    • Tdang / Nov 13 2011 11:09 PM

      I meant “taking her” ;)

  2. Bicultural Mama / Nov 14 2011 4:31 PM

    I love the quotes from the girls!

  3. Migdalia - @MsLatina / Nov 16 2011 10:19 PM

    Happy Belated Birthday!! I would say “I hope you had a great one” but based on your review I KNOW you did. :)

    It looks like it was a fun event and one worth taking the children to.

    • mommylok / Nov 17 2011 8:32 AM

      Yes, I did :) Thank you for the bday wish!

  4. Asianmommy / Nov 16 2011 10:41 PM

    Looks like a fun time!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,959 other followers

