Skip to content
January 11, 2012 / mommylok

My 7 Year-Old Business Woman

I’m not sure if 7 is supposed to be a life changing number, but when my daughter turned 7 years old last month, personality changes accompanied her birthday.

M seemed to instantly turn into a “little miss sassy pants” – I know there are many moms who know exactly what I mean!  Actually, I’m sure many moms would tell me their daughters started this stage much earlier, so I do consider myself lucky that I was able to hang on to my sweet, innocent little girl for as long as I’ve been able to.

The other change stems for a conversation M had with one of my husband’s friends.  I’m not sure how the conversation started, but this is the part I heard:

M:  “You can give me $10 to clean up for you.”

Friend:  “Hmm.”

M:  “Now you can give me $100 if I help you.”

This went back and forth for at least 3 rounds – M got as high has $1000.

These past few weeks, she seems to be bargaining every chance she gets.  In the instance above, she starts out with a reasonable offer and apparently, if you don’t take her up on her offer immediately, there’s inflation.  Don’t mess with her!

Last night, I came home to hear my husband’s gripe that he can’t afford my daughter’s artwork.  M displayed a bunch of her work in her room and asked her father to come take a look.  There happens to be price tags on every piece of art.  You get where this is going.  My husband expressed interest in one particular piece (which happened to be priced under $1).  However, as soon as he said, “I like this one”, she pulls it off the wall and tells him, “It’s $29.”  She’s funny – I give her that much!  We’ll need to work on the bargaining skills a little, but from what I see, M is going to be quite successful in business one day.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bicultural Mama / Jan 11 2012 9:06 PM

    So funny, she is ready to go to business school! 🙂 Maybe she’s been watching some game shows or something like that…

  2. KC / Jan 19 2012 8:29 AM

    Cute story. Since she’s Chinese, maybe the bargaining comes naturally.

  3. mommylok / Jan 19 2012 8:49 AM

    It may give her a slight edge!

Leave a Reply

