Skip to content
January 13, 2012 / mommylok

A Tribute to a Shoe

It’s quite shameful that I haven’t written about my big brother yet, seeing that, especially in the past couple years, he could have used more of my support with Bitmob, a website he co-founded.  He is a better writer than me (he does it for a living!) so I never felt that a post written by his little sister would do him justice.  I suppose better late than never applies in this situation, so let me just keep this short and simple.

Dan, you were always the slacker of our family growing up.  That’s not a secret.  But you were the one that followed your passion and dreams despite any obstacles, and I deeply admire that and wished I learned from your experience earlier.  You’ve had more than your fair share of hardships but you never compromised or settled and continued to work your butt off.  You’ve also more than proven yourself in the gaming industry (16+ years of “professionally” playing games is not a small feat!)  And I’m extremely proud of you.

Congratulations on your newest venture as Editor-in-Chief of GamesBeat.  I know you’ll be instrumental in taking GamesBeat to higher levels of success.

I really wanted to post a photo of you that no other gaming site has yet, but since you didn’t have anything readily available, I’m using the photo below to end my little tribute to you, Dan Hsu aka “Shoe”.

mommylok, Michelle, Dan

(I apologize for the poor quality of the photo – it’s very old and the person in the middle who shall remain nameless (Michelle) didn’t scan it in very well!)

To learn more about this cool dude that I’m proud to call my brother, please check out the press release announcing how GamesBeat (through VentureBeat) acquired Bitmob.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shoe / Jan 14 2012 11:11 AM

    Awwww, thank you!! :)

  2. Bicultural Mama / Jan 14 2012 2:46 PM

    What a nice tribute to your brother and such a cute picture of when you all were little!

  3. Asianmommy / Jan 17 2012 1:14 PM

    What a cute pic of the 3 of you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,959 other followers

