Skip to content
January 24, 2012 / mommylok

The Best Feeling…

All you parents out there know exactly what I mean when I talk about that special something your child does or has done that gives you “the best feeling.”  That special something that warms your heart to no end and serves as a cure-all to all your problems.  Maybe it’s the pitter-patter of the tiny feet coming to greet you in the morning or perhaps that first time your child says, “I love you.”

When I started working a few months back, I would be up and out the door before my two older children are due to wake for school.  I’d always give them their “have an awesome day at school” kiss but half the time they’d just roll over and fall back asleep.  Recently, however, my daughter started waking up right on time (and coincidentally, I’ve been leaving for work a little later than usual!) and would run to my room to make sure she didn’t miss me.  It touches my heart to know how important my kisses are to her.  After the first couple days of doing this, she asked me “Mommy, are you happy when I wake up when the alarm goes off?”  My smile was all she needed to know my answer.

This morning when she ran to my room, she was the first to wish me a good day and gave me my usual comforting hugs and kisses.  For her to wake up, knowing how good it made me feel to be able to hug and kiss her before I leave for work, and do this every morning…gives me the best feeling.  M – I love you so much and thank you for giving me a bright, loving start to my days.

Whether or not you’re a parent, I’d love to know…what is your “best feeling?”

Leave a Reply

