Skip to content
March 9, 2012 / mommylok

Disney’s John Carter – One Dad’s Review

I had the opportunity to see Disney’s John Carter last night with my cousin – an avid movie-goer and father of two.  Rather than reading a typical mom’s point of view, I thought my readers might appreciate a dad’s take on Disney’s newest release:

Imagine Star Wars, Avatar, Superman, Indiana Jones and many other notable sci-fi movies put into a blender.  The outcome?  John Carter. John Carter, the movie adaptation of Edgar Rice Burroughs’ A Princess of Mars, borrows from these classic sci-fi movies into a new product that could standout on its own.

Although you see the influences from these other great sci-fi movies, it needs to be stated that without the imaginative thinking behind Edgar Rice Burroughs, those classics from George Lucas, James Cameron, (writer) Jerry Siegel and Steven Spielberg might never had been made. The story of John Carter was written about 100 years ago. It heavily influenced the creation of these great sci-fi franchises. From Hans Solo/Indiana Jones’ swashbuckling style, the Na’vi’s tribal interactions, and Superman’s gravity enhanced strength, you can see where they got their roots.

From a parents perspective, what’s not to like about this movie? You have sword fighting, arena battles, big spaceships, gigantic monsters, cool alien characters, shape-shifting, princess rescues and many more cool elements. The onscreen chemistry and screen presence of actors Taylor Kitsch (John Carter) and Lynn Collins (Dejah Thoris, the Princess) made the characters enjoyable and believable. Mix that all in with a little Disney humor and you have a possible franchise in the making.

As a movie enthusiast and sci-fi fanatic, I must say, that watching John Carter in 3D was visually stunning, from the picturesque landscapes, to the beautiful choreography of the ship battles and action sequences. I was skeptical about this movie in the beginning, since the lead actors were afterthoughts in X-Men Origins:Wolverine as Gambit and Kayla Silverfox. Both actors held their own and I look forward to watching any future movies with them in it……..hopefully a second edition of John Carter.

John Carter is playing now – have you seen it and what are your thoughts?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mauro Pennacchia / Mar 9 2012 8:01 PM

    I wasn’t going to watch this film because I thought the previews looked cheesy. After reading your review I am interested but the movies you named epitomizes the greatness of Sci-fi movies.
    Does John Carter really blend the best of all these films? Can Taylor Kitsch really carry a film?

  2. Bicultural Mama / Mar 10 2012 10:41 AM

    Good review…I have not seen it yet, but have heard about it. Thanks for the information!

  3. Nelson Lok / Mar 10 2012 10:29 PM

    On Mauro’s comment, I totally agree, the preview looks cheesy, the desire to watch this was not there. But given that that I was fortunate enough to be invited to a screening of this film and the enjoyment both me and my son gained from watching John Carter, I felt it was a duty to enlighten those moviegoers that felt the same way.

    While I did make the references to those great timeless scifi classics, we have to reach back to and say to ourselves we did love some movies that withstood time, we loved some movies that we may have been embarrassed about (Flash Gordon). But I truly felt this movie was a gem despite some reviews that might have called this movie “campy” or “unfocused”. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and so did my son. And I think many others would.

    Doing a little research on this film, I noted that so many great directors, Steven Spielberg, George Lucas, James Cameron, were directly influenced by the story from Burroughs. Clearly, you can see how the directors and other creative minds borrowed back from those films. Which, I personally saw pieces from at least 5 different movies.

    Think back to The Mummy, Brendan Fraser’s most popular role at the time was School Ties, Rachel Weisz was a relative unknown. By no means am I saying this film is going to be a commercial success, but if not, it definitely will gain a cult following, this film did the scifi genre justice.

    The whole is not always equal to it’s parts, but definitely an enjoyable movie and recommended by me and my son. Hope you enjoy it too.

  4. Dan / Mar 11 2012 12:49 PM

    Sitting in the theater now awaiting the start…

Leave a Reply

