Skip to content
April 13, 2012 / mommylok

Product Feature: TV Flashbacks-Educational DVDs for Kids

My children get more of their share of TV than I’d like.  However, what makes me feel a little less guilty about my choice is that there are desirable options for educational and stimulating shows that my kids can also enjoy.

Mill Creek Entertainment and TVFlashbacks.com  announced earlier this year that they now offer a variety of retro and new animated DVDs.  Such titles include:

  • Gadget Boy’s Adventures in History – Stopping Evil Across Time
  • Sherlock Holmes in the 22nd Century – On The Case
  • The Best of Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego
  • The Best of Archie’s Weird Mysteries
  • iKnow Letters, Animals & Sounds

Now you can reminisce and share some classics with your children while they enjoy mysterious, learning adventures.  These shows also expose your children to history and geography lessons in a fun way.

I received Gadget Boy, Sherlock Holmes and Carmen Sandiego to review.  However, since my three-week jury duty (that was an adventure in itself!) put me a bit behind schedule, I haven’t had time to sit down and fully enjoy the shows yet.  My children have watched a few episodes of each series and it’s been fun hearing the little adventures they create during playtime.  My son (5 years old) and daughter (7 years old) have also been taking turns role-playing as Sherlock Holmes.

Here are some comments by my daughter:

“I want people to watch Carmen Sandiego because if they steal something (referring to a particular episode), they got to give it back.  It teaches them a lesson.  I think people should watch Sherlock Holmes because in the episodes, Sherlock Holmes solves all kinds of mysteries.  Sherlock Holmes is a serious man.  I think he is serious because he solves mysteries.  I liked Gadget Boy better because Gadget Boy is hilarious.”

I don’t know why, but I thought it was funny how she preferred Gadget Boy but only role plays Sherlock Holmes.

TV Flashbacks cartoon DVDs start as low as $7.99.  For more information and to view other classic titles (Richard Scarry’s Busytown, Heathcliff, G.I. Joe, Dungeons and Dragons and many more!), please visit their website.

Disclosure:  I received TV Flashbacks DVDs for review purposes only; no other compensation was received for this post.   All opinions expressed are my own.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Maria Wen Adcock (@BiculturalMama) / Apr 14 2012 5:00 PM

    You daughter has some good insight. She’s a natural reviewer!

Leave a Reply

