Skip to content
April 7, 2013 / mommylok

TV, are you good or bad for kids?

I admit, I am one of those moms that feel there is nothing is wrong with using TV as a babysitter for my kids.  Don’t get me wrong, I did feel bad (between reading all the countless articles informing me how negative TV can be, my parent-in-laws who drilled it into me that my kids would have bad eyes if I let my children watch TV before the age of 5-by the way, is this an Asian thing?, etc.) but it didn’t stop me from doing it.  I’d constantly have the debate in my head (oh my god, am I ruining my kids??) but eventually I got over it and told myself “I’m not a bad mom!”  By the way, 2 of my children did make it into NYC’s Gifted and Talented Program so my decision to let my kids over watch TV couldn’t have been that bad, right?

Now that I’ve given up on beating myself up over the “misuse” of TV, I came across the infographic below, “Better TV Means Better Kids”  and found it intriguing.  For the most part, I did try to stick with the educational programs and seeing how my kids are now doing well in school, I can totally relate to the stats below.  I’m not agreeing or advocating for this data, but I think it has valid points.  I’m interested to hear what you think about this – please share your thoughts!

Better TV Infographic

Source: EducationNews.org

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pauline Enrile / Apr 9 2013 11:27 AM

    I literally just punished my 7-year old for watching 4 children’s tv shows in a row, after being told he was only allowed to watch one. Usually, he’s quite trust-worthy, but as I napped (after a rough few nights with a coughing 2-year old), he decided to take advantage. So, I guess, for me, tv isn’t the worst thing in the world they could be doing, given that they show self-discipline. I am also concerned that tv is too addictive. Sometimes, I will find my kids watching tv at some random location, with a show in a different language (one they have never heard) and the content of which is completely dull. A screen is on somewhere, so they need to be in front of it. It’s just not right. Luckily, if you shove a sports activity in front of them, and they will always choose the activity, but it’s not tough to imagine that one day, a tv or computer game will win out. Until then, I can only hope they start to develop self-discipline.

  2. mommylok / Apr 9 2013 11:44 AM

    I understand your concern about the addiction. But at least for this instance your son was safely home while you caught up on much needed rest, even if he was over watching TV per your rules 🙂

  3. Asianmommy / Apr 9 2013 11:02 PM

    The kids don’t watch that much TV–mostly it’s movies that we rent on occasion.

  4. Petite Brooklyn Mom / Apr 11 2013 8:15 PM

    First, congrats to the kids for making it to the G&T program. Been hearing a lot about that since becoming a mom 4.5 months ago. So much stress being a kid.

    As for TV watching, my husband and I are still watching adult shows and movies. I aim to keep it that way for awhile. Is that wishful thinking? The only bad thing is that I tend to watch crime shows and they’re getting really gruesome these days! I’m not sure how it will affect our little one psychologically and emotionally. He’s only 4.5 month old so I’m thinking I can still get away with it.

    I think there should be a happy medium between TV watching and outdoor activities. And yes, I totally believe that the types of shows kids watch definitely affect them intellectually. What bothers me more than the types of shows they watch are the commercials that promote fast food, sugary drinks and candy. These products I feel affect how our kids deal with their daily lives which include studying and doing well in school. Not to mention its effect on mommy and daddy’s pockets!

  5. biculturalmama / Apr 19 2013 9:33 PM

    Good point your kids watched TV and they’re now warped! My daughter watches TV. More so now that she’s older, but always just the preschool channels so age-appropriate shows with learning.

Leave a Reply

