Skip to content
April 9, 2013 / mommylok

DIY Wedding Tips

If you know me, really know me, you’d laugh at the fact that I am posting something that has “DIY” in it.  I found it particularly hilarious that I was asked to post my own ideas because simply said, I am not a Do-It-Yourself type of person.  I see nothing wrong with paying other people for their services (or bribing friends!)

Despite the fact that I do not do-it-myself, I truly do envy others who have the patience and skills to be a do-it-yourselfer.

In anticipation for the upcoming movie, The Big Wedding, I wanted to share a couple of fun tips (that some shared with me!):

Bridal Party Gifts:
Have you been a bit of a bridezilla? Show your bridal party your appreciation with a special gift that isn’t something generic. Buy lockets and put pictures of you together inside or write a note on a beautiful strip of decorative paper to fold inside. Make your own pearl and ribbon bracelet or necklace that uses beads, ribbon, needle and embroidery floss or thread. Make each unique to those special girls  standing next to you by the color of the ribbon or any extra beading you feel like adding.
Something Blue Wedding Shoes:
Every bride needs something new, something old, something borrowed, and something blue. The first three are the easy ones—jewelry, a dress, and flowers perfectly fit into those categories. Something blue though?? Why not color the bottom of your shoes! It’s a fun, easy way to have something blue on you all day that can stay nice and hidden if blue really isn’t your thing. To dye the bottom of your shoes, all you need to do is clean them, paint them with white nail polish and then paint again with the blue of your choice. Let them dry and voila—your something blue will be right at your toes! If you don’t want to color the whole sole, add blue rhinestones for some sparkle and fun.
Now, to share in the fun and anticipation for this movie, I’d love for you to share some of your own DIY Wedding Tips.  I do know a couple people who are engaged to be married this year so the more tips I can share with them, the better!

The Big Wedding, a Lionsgate® film

ABOUT THE MOVIE

With an all-star cast led by Robert DeNiro, Katherine Heigl, Diane Keaton, Amanda Seyfried, Topher Grace, with Susan Sarandon and Robin Williams, THE BIG WEDDING is an uproarious romantic comedy about a charmingly modern family trying to survive a weekend wedding celebration that has the potential to become a full blown family fiasco.  To the amusement of their adult children and friends, long divorced couple Don and Ellie Griffin (De Niro and Keaton) are once again forced to play the happy couple for the sake of their adopted son’s wedding after his ultra conservative biological mother unexpectedly decides to fly halfway across the world to attend. With all of the wedding guests looking on, the Griffins are hilariously forced to confront their past, present and future – and hopefully avoid killing each other in the process. Screenplay by Justin Zackham. Directed by Justin Zackham.

Disclosure:  I received information to share only; no compensation was received for this post.   All opinions expressed are my own.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pauline Enrile / Apr 9 2013 11:20 AM

    Neither am I, my friend. But for my wedding, I did get a few “paper cuts.” I decided to do my own wedding ceremony programmes. I went to Kinko’s or the equivalent and printed out the pages — because I did two pages per sheet, the page organisation nearly did my head in (this was 2001, and I only knew how to use Word, Excel, and PowerPoint), photocopied and collated the pages. Then, I searched high and low for flower-pressed paper that was slightly frayed at the edges and slightly larger than the printed paper, folded them in half, hole-punched them (along with the printed paper), and used raffia to bind together.

    As we were getting married at my husband’s parents’ summer home, which has an olive grove that produces a fair amount of olive oil, I ordered some small bottles, topped with cork, dried some lavender and rosemary from the garden, put the oil and one twig of dried herb (this is important, as if not dried properly, it turns rancid in the olive oil if left for over two weeks) in each bottle, closed it with the cork and added more raffia as a bow to the neck. I also had (professionally printed) letterpressed cards with my husband and my names on it, along with our wedding date, with a light gold lettering. I used basic calligraphy to write each guest’s name on a card and added the card to the raffia, using the olive oil as a place setting.

    Also, with help from some friends, a few weekends before the wedding, we went to a local wildflower field and picked out some wildflowers, dried them, put them together and used them to decorate the corners of the tents.

    These were small projects, so with enough time (and some help?), definitely DIY-able.

  2. mommylok / Apr 9 2013 11:36 AM

    I absolutely love the olive oil gift idea! It must have been so pretty! Thank you for sharing!

  3. Petite Brooklyn Mom / Apr 9 2013 11:48 AM

    I made my own wedding veil that involved a yard of lace, a nice hair comb, needle, and thread. Cost less than $10. I don’t think anyone can tell that I didn’t spend tons of money on it.

    We also made our own wedding invitations (semi-made). We got BRIDES wedding invitations from Michaels and printed them out with our wedding information. Used 50% discount so we made 40 invitations for $15 and that included the invitation envelope, response cards and envelopes.

    We made a guest seating chart by using a cork picture frame. We printed all the guests’ names along with their table numbers, then adhere the names to the picture frame using double sided tape. We decorated the picture frame with flowers and ribbons. One of our friends loved the seating chart so much that she used the idea for her wedding as well.

    I had so much fun DIYing for my wedding. Would love to do the wedding again with everything DIY, including the dress. OK…maybe not the dress 🙂

  4. mommylok / Apr 9 2013 11:58 AM

    You are such a perfect example for a creative DIY person. You had a beautiful wedding, very classy and I love how much of it was done by yourself! I should post about baby showers next and share the things you’ve done for your baby!

  5. Petite Brooklyn Mom / Apr 9 2013 4:39 PM

    Thank you. Forgot to mention that the hubby also set up a photo booth that basically just involved a computer, a free photo software, a remote control, and backdrop. Very easy and doesn’t cost as much as the professional photo booth. The only downside was that after the party we had to take everything down ourselves. I guess that’s the downside of DIY. You make it, set it up and then you have to take it down 🙂 Would not have been so bad if I wasn’t awake since 1 am on the wedding day 🙂

  6. biculturalmama / Apr 19 2013 9:31 PM

    I could have used some of these tips when I got married. 🙂

Leave a Reply

