Skip to content
April 30, 2013 / mommylok

Product Feature: Joovy’s Bicycoo Balance Bike

Photo Courtesy of Joovy

Photo Courtesy of Joovy

At the last Mama’s Expo I attended, I met many wonderful and inspiring vendors.  Once such vendor is Joovy, a family-run business that offers amazing solutions by way of high quality products at affordable prices to families on the go.

At first glance, all I saw were strollers and playpens – products that weren’t relevant to me as my kids have outgrown the need for them.  However, once I stopped and took the time to speak with one of their representatives, I learned that the company offers so much more.  The representative took a few minutes of her time to speak with me about my family and offered suggestions on what I may be interested in based on my needs.  After finding out my children’s ages, she suggested that I try the Bicycoo Balance Bike.

Training bikes without pedals weren’t familiar to me, but after the Joovy representative explained the benefits, I thought it was a great idea and wanted to try it out on my youngest son R (who barely has any riding experience, even on his traditional tricycle).

As my older children were learning to ride bikes, a friend of mine suggested they practice riding their scooter first to get a feel for balancing.  He felt it was more effective than using training wheels (and I thought his point was very valid!)  The Bicycoo Balance Bike has the same concept but seems as if it would be even more effective because you are completely simulating the bike riding experience.  The Bicycoo Balance Bike teaches you to balance on a two-wheeler so that when you’re ready for the big kid’s bike, you can just take off!

Photo by V.Lok

Assembly was quick and simple – after we put air into the tires, R was ready to go.  At first glance, the bike looked small but once R got on it, it was a great fit and he was very comfortable on it.  Though he was a little hesitant at first, he was soon adjusting and felt confident to glide.  I wish I could say that R picked it up after one day but that wasn’t the case.  However, because the bike is cool looking, sturdy, and easy to handle, R will be back on the bike in no time to practice again.

The Joovy Bicycoo Balance Bike’s frame is made of aluminum, making it strong and lightweight – easy for young kids to handle.  The 12-inch tires are pneumatic (air) and refillable – much better than the plastic wheels on many of the bikes on the market.  They help give young ones a much smoother ride which is a big confidence builder!  The seat is adjustable and there is a hand brake for the rear tire.  Currently, the bike retails for approximately $149.99 and is available through various retailers, including Joovy.  To learn more about Joovy and their line of products, please visit their website.

ABOUT JOOVY
Joovy’s goal is to design and manufacture family gear products that are extremely useful, practical, good-looking, and fun. Their products have premium features and use vibrant, high quality fabrics and materials. Joovy strives for high quality at a reasonable price for their customers and considers their employees, customers, and factory partners members of their family. Customers come first!

Disclosure: I received a Joovy Bicycoo Balance Bike as a sample for review purposes; no other compensation was received for this post. All opinions expressed are my own.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. biculturalmama / Apr 30 2013 10:04 PM

    What a very cool bike. I have some Joovy products as well and like them!

Leave a Reply

