Skip to content

A 1st Grader’s Book Reviews

I’ve started a new project with my daughter, Miriya, who is 6 years old and in the 1st grade.  She is a bookworm – I cannot seem to keep up with the books that she reads.  We recently purchased a set of 7 books (The Sports Fairies by Daisy Meadows) and she finished them in less than 3 days, along with 2 other books that she needed to read for school.   To help slow her down a bit and to make sure she’s really enjoying and understanding each book, I asked her if she’d be interested in writing reviews (to be published online so she can be famous!) and she was more than willing to do it.   A cool project, a mom’s sneaky tactics to get her child to practice her writing skills…call it what you want but regardless, of course I wanted to share with everyone and will hope that you will find it a useful resource!

Miriya has nearly completed the entire Cam Jansen and Junie B. Jones series and about half of the Disney Fairies collection.   If you have any questions about any of those books, please leave a comment and I’ll be sure to ask Miriya what she thinks!  Also, please encourage your kids to submit their thoughts on these books.  I’d love to share your comments with my daughter.  Additionally, if you’d like for her to review any books in particular, please be sure to either leave a comment below or e-mail me through the “Write me” link on the side bar.

Sports Fairies by Daisy Meadows   (2/21/11)

Junie B. Jones and the Yucky Blucky Fruitcake (3/2/11)

Dulcie’s Taste of Magic – Disney Fairies Collection (3/2/11)

Horrible Harry and the Dead Letters (3/4/11)

Pink Princess Rules the School (3/5/11)

Horrible Harry and the Kickball Wedding (3/6/11)

Purple Princess Wins the Prize (3/8/11)

Horrible Harry on the Ropes (3/11/11)

Orange Princess Has a Ball (3/12/11)

Horrible Harry and the Holidaze (3/14/11)

Magic Tree House-Dolphins at Daybreak (5/14/11)

Secrets of Droon (books 1-7) (5/15/11)

3/15:  NOTE – My daughter is going on a short break as she needs to concentrate on her research report; she’ll be back by the end of April!  During her free time, she’ll be continuing the Horrible Harry collection.  She will also begin to read books from The Secrets of Droon series, written by Tony Abbott (she just completed the first book, The Hidden Stairs and the Magic Carpet).  Though no reviews will be written at this time, we both welcome your questions or comments!  Thanks for all your support!

5/1:  Miriya finished her research report and her presentation last week.  However, I just found out she has one more report coming up – her last big project at school before the school year ends.  Therefore, I regret to say, her book reviews may be on hold once more.  I will continue to update her reading log, so please feel free to ask or comment about any books and my daughter would be more than happy to respond!

Advertisements

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. KC / Mar 2 2011 1:54 PM

    wow, that’s awesome! your book review idea is great too. my only suggestion, is to maybe ask miriya to structure her reviews a little more. for example, an introduction paragraph, then maybe one to three paragraphs in the middle for whatever discussion points (i.e., her favorite characters, favorite sections of the book, etc.), then a conclusion paragraph (that includes her recommendation of the book and why). is that too much for a first grader?

    • mommylok / Mar 2 2011 3:31 PM

      Thanks, KC for your suggestion! We will work on the structure and form. Her teacher should thank you, as well, for helping her to become a better writer 🙂

  2. Zhang / Mar 2 2011 4:01 PM

    hi, my wife and I want to read to my kid every night. he’s only about 9 months old. got any good suggestions? He usually falls asleep to his abc books.

    • mommylok / Mar 2 2011 4:20 PM

      Miriya suggests any book that is big and colorful! We have a few Priddy Books from the “Big and Busy” collection that are very cool – check those out and let us know what you think. We think it’s great that you and your wife wants to read to your child!

  3. Michelle / Mar 2 2011 4:53 PM

    This is a GREAT idea! I can’t wait to continually check back in to read Miriya’s reviews. It will be refreshing to read them through a child’s point of view. This is a great idea for other children to participate too! And good way to get Miriya to develop her writing skills!

  4. Sue / Mar 3 2011 12:10 PM

    I think this is a fantastic idea. What a bright little girl you have! My daughter just turned 5 and she too loves to read. She’s learning her consonant sounds and trying to spell. Having Miriya write book reviews strengthens her understanding of the reading and it’s interesting to know how she analyzes and interprets the books.

    • mommylok / Mar 3 2011 12:15 PM

      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts! Keep up the great work with your daughter 🙂

  5. Will / Mar 4 2011 11:06 AM

    It’s so great that you’re nurturing her interest in reading. What’s even cooler is that you’re helping her step back and analyze the book. From what I understand, there are kids who can read beyond their years but their comprehension isn’t necessarily at the same level. The book reviews are just perfect for her to think about what she’s reading.

  6. mommylok / Mar 4 2011 4:47 PM

    Thanks so much for your comment, Will!

  7. Shoe / Mar 7 2011 1:48 PM

    Wait, she actually can write that much in each of those reviews? I know you corrected/edited it, but that’s pretty amazing still!

    • mommylok / Mar 7 2011 2:00 PM

      She writes more in her assignments for school, believe it or not! Her teacher is really big into reading and writing – so she’s getting good practice 🙂 Yes, I do some minor editing, but the reviews are in her words.

  8. Michelle / Mar 7 2011 4:17 PM

    Tell Miriya to keep up the good work! I read all the reviews in her cute voice 🙂 And I can tell that Miriya definitely loves the color pink!

  9. Steve / Mar 11 2011 12:30 PM

    What an amazing way to encourage reading and writing in children. Kudos to you

    • mommylok / Mar 11 2011 12:40 PM

      Thank you so much, Steve!

  10. Suzanne / Apr 19 2011 5:16 PM

    Such a terrific idea. She will remember being published (by you) forever. Tell her she’s doing great work and to keep writing!

    • mommylok / Apr 19 2011 8:14 PM

      I will do that! Thanks so much Suzanne!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: